Home Business Once again a batting failure, once again the pacers shine

Once again a batting failure, once again the pacers shine

by endroar

At the other end, Muminul played an innings of 33 runs and helped Bangladesh's run to over one and a half hundred. Courtesy of his innings, he crossed the milestone of 4000 runs as a Bangladeshi batsman in Test cricket. Fernando also returned Muminul. He also ended the Bangladesh innings by bowling Khaled in the 69th over. It was his fourth wicket. Two other pacers Fernando and Kumara also took 2 wickets each.

After Sri Lanka, the pacers of Bangladesh also got success. The bowling of Khaled and Hasan with the new ball has also troubled the Lankans. Dimuth starts by dismissing Karunaratne (4). In the second over of the innings, Karunaratne was bowled by pulling the ball outside Hasan's off-stump. In the next over, Khaled bowled Kushal Mendis. After the quick fall of two wickets, Nishan Maduska made a partnership of 45 runs with the experienced Angelo Mathews. Hasan came bowling in a new spell and broke the pair. Maduska was caught by Miraj at slip off Hassan, ending the 34-run innings. Hasan also forced Dinesh Chandimal to be caught at slip for 9 runs. The wicket of Kamindu Mendis, who was successful in the previous three innings of this series, did not last. The left-hander was caught by Liton in Khaled's second spell during a personal 9 runs. Mathews spent the rest of the day with Prabat Jayasuriya.

Even though the bowling shined in the last innings, the batting failure of the first innings that made the defeat of Bangladesh almost certain in this Test, is still going on.

Short score

Sri Lanka 1st innings: 531/102/6 in 25 overs (Karunaratne 4, Madushka 34, Mendis 2, Mathews 39*, Chandimal 9, Dhananjaya 1, Kamindu 9, Jayasuriya 3*; Khaled 2/29, Hasan 4/51, Shakib 0 /20, Taijul 0/1).

Bangladesh 1st innings: 178 in 68.4 overs (Mahmudul 21, Zakir 54, Taijul 22, Nazmul 1, Mominul 33, Shakib 15, Liton 4, Shahadat 8, Miraj 7, Khaled 1, Hasan 2*; Biswa Fernando 2/38, Asita Fernando 4/34, Kumara 2/19, Jayasuriya 2/65, Dhananjaya 0/14).

* At the end of the third day


related posts

Leave a Comment